Bonus-point win for Blue Bulls

Date published: August 14 2015

The Blue Bulls overturned a half-time deficit to beat the Griquas 36-12 in Friday's Currie Cup clash at Loftus Versfeld.

The home side failed to capitalise on their multiple opportunities in the first half, despite doing most in the playing. The second half was a completely different story though as the Bulls blew their visitors away to rack up their second bonus-point win in as many weeks. 

The Griquas battled hard in the opening 40 minutes, defending well and grabbing their chances. 

Lappies Labuschagne's side were excellent after the break though as the Bulls skipper led by example in a more direct approach. 

The Griquas led 12-6 at the interval thanks to tries from centre Ruhan Nel and Ntabeni Dukisa, to which the Bulls could only reply with two penalties from the boot of fly-half Tian Schoeman.

But the second half was one-way traffic however as the Bulls scored 30 unanswered points.

Two more penalties from Man of the Match Schoeman drew the Bulls level early in the second period, but it was replacement prop Dayan van der Westhuizen's break-away try from the halfway line that proved to be the turning point.

Schoeman, who finished with a personal haul of 21 points, added a great solo try of his own around the hour mark.

Scrum-half Francois Hougaard added to his two tries from last week when he scored after sniping around the side of a ruck.

Big wing Jamba Ulengo added the all-important fourth try in the dying minutes as the Griquas were unable to cope with the Bulls' offloading game. 

The scorers:

For Blue Bulls:

Tries: D. van der Westhuizen, Schoeman, Hougaard, Ulengo
Cons: Schoeman 2
Pens: Schoeman 4

For Griquas:
Tries: Nel, Dukisa
Cons: Prinsloo

Blue Bulls: 15 Warrick Gelant, 14 Travis Ismaiel, 13 William Small-Smith, 12 Burger Odendaal, 11 Jamba Ulengo, 10 Tian Schoeman, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Hanro Liebenberg, 7 Lappies Labuschagne (c), 6 Deon Stegmann, 5 Marvin Orie, 4 Jacques du Plessis, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Jaco Visagie, 1 Dean Greyling.
Replacements: 16 Bandise Maku, 17 Dayan van der Westhuizen, 18 RG Snyman, 19 Roelof Smit, 20 Ivan van Zyl, 21 Louis Fouche, 22 Dries Swanepoel.

Griquas: 15 Gouws Prinsloo, 14 Ruhan Nel, 13 Johnathan Francke, 12 Michael van der Spuy, 11 Ntabeni Dukisa, 10 Riaan Viljoen, 9 Tian Meyer (c), 8 Carel Greeff, 7 Hilton Lobberts, 6 RJ Liebenberg, 5 Hugo Kloppers, 4 Jonathan Adendorf, 3 Stephan Kotze, 2 AJ le Roux, 1 Danie Mienie.
Replacements: 16 Martin Bezuidenhout, 17 Ewald van der Westhuizen, 18 Jaco Nepgen, 19 Leon Karemaker, 20 Rudi van Rooyen, 21 Clinton Swart, 22 Jacquin Jansen.