Bonus-point win for Australia

Date published: June 6 2015

Australia kept up the pace with Pool B rivals South Africa after defeating hosts Italy 31-15 in Parma.

Brad Wilkin, James Tuttle, Cameron Orr and Adam Korczyk all crossed for the Australians to secure a bonus-point win.

Italy's second straight defeat is a setback, although the hosts did finish with two tries to their name from Lorenzo Masato and Luhandre Luus.

Lorenzo Minozzi opened the scoring with a penalty for the Italians after the hosts' scrum won the battle, with the Australians looking slightly subdued in the opening quarter.

Just as Australia began to show some fluidity they were snuffed out by a 70-metre interception score from Masato to make it 8-0.

Andrew Deegan hit back with a penalty to put Australia on the board before their rolling maul generated a first try for Wilkin.

Deegan's conversion put them ahead for the first time and Tuttle soon added try number two after half an hour when he burst off the edge of a ruck to find the try line.

Australia weren't done and scored a third try in ten minutes through Orr, the prop sprinting over from ten metres out as Italy's defence disintergrated. A third conversion from Deegan meant that Australia were ahead 24-8 at the break.

Neither side could create more points after half-time, with Italy missing the fire that served them so well early on. Australia went in search of a bonus-point try and their maul again was the source, as Korczyk powered over.

Italy replied with a maul of their own as the replacement Luus was the man to touch down, making it 31-15 to Australia with time running out.

Unfortunately for the home fans there was to be no comeback, as Australia wound down the clock having accomplished their mission of picking up five tournament points.

The scorers:

For Australia:
Tries: Wilkin, Tuttle, Orr, Korczyk
Cons: Deegan 4
Pens: Deegan

For Italy:

Tries: Masato, Luus

Cons: Minozzi

Pens: Minozzi

Australia: 15 Jonah Placid, 14 Conrad Quick, 13 Sione Tuipolotu, 12 Duncan Paia'Aua, 11 Andrew Kellaway, 10 Andrew Deegan, 9 James Tuttle, 8 Adam Korczyk, 7 Michael Gunn, 6 Brad Wilkin, 5 Lukhan Lealaiauloto-Tui, 4 Ned Hanigan, 3 Matthew Sandell, 2 Folau Fainga'a, 1 Cameron Orr

Replacements: 16 Fereti Sa'aga, 17 Connal McInerney, 18 Tyrell Lomax, 19 Riley Winter, 20 Sam Croke, 21 Harry Nucifora, 22 James Dalgleish, 23 Tyson Davis

Italy: 15 Luca Sperandio, 14 Yannick Agbasse, 13 Lorenzo Casalini, 12 Enrico Lucchin, 11 Lorenzo Masato, 10 Matteo Minozzi, 9 Ricardo Raffaele, 8 Matteo Cornelli, 7 Renato Giammarioli, 6 Matteo Archetti, 5 Davide Zanetti, 4 Samuele Ortis, 3 Federico Pavesi, 2 Edoardo Ferraro, 1 Paolo Buonfiglio (c)
Replacements: 16 Luhandre Luus, 17 Dino Dallavalle, 18 Andrea Cincotto, 19 Ugo D'Onofrio, 20 Jake Polledri, 21 Matteo Ferrari, 22 Maicol Azzolini, 23 Giacomo De Santis