Bonus-point win for Auckland

Date published: August 23 2015

ITM Cup holders Taranaki slumped to a second straight defeat on Sunday as Auckland came out on top, winning 30-24 with a bonus-point at Eden Park.

Coming on the back of a 19-14 home negative to Wellington, the 'Naki were desperate to get back to winning ways but found Auckland's backs too strong.

Ben Lam, George Moala, Simon Hickey and Rieko Ioane were Auckland's try scorers, with All Black Charles Piutau playing a full game on the left wing.

In reply Sean Wainui and Charlie Ngatai went over for Taranaki, who pushed hard in the second period but could not secure a come-from-behind victory.

Auckland and Taranaki are both playing at home in next weekend's ITM Cup fixtures, facing off against Canterbury and Otago respecitvely on Saturday.

The scorers:

For Auckland:
Tries: Lam, Moala, S Hickey, R Ioane
Con: S Hickey, J Hickey
Pen: J Hickey 2

For Taranaki:
Tries: Wainui, Ngatai
Con: McKenzie
Pen: McKenzie 3, Rei

Auckland: 15 Lolagi Visinia, 14 Ben Lam, 13 Vince Aso, 12 George Moala, 11 Charles Piutau, 10 Simon Hickey, 9 Jono Hickey, 8 Akira Ioane, 7 Mitch Karpik, 6 Joe Edwards, 5 Liaki Moli, 4 William Lloyd, 3 Ofa Tu'ungafasi, 2 Greg Pleasants-Tate, 1 Sam Prattley.
Replacements: 16 Kurt Eklund, 17 Tom McHugh, 18 Jono Owen, 19 Michael Fatialofa, 20 Matt Matich, 21 Kaito Shigeno, 22 Mitch Hunt, 23 Rieko Ioane.

Taranaki: 15 James Marshall (c), 14 Codey Rei, 13 Sean Wainui, 12 Charlie Ngatai, 11 Kurt Baker, 10 Marty McKenzie, 9 Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, 8 Toa Halafihi, 7 Berny Hall, 6 Mitchell Crosswell, 5 Blade Thomson, 4 Mitchell Brown, 3 Angus Taavao, 2 Sione Lea, 1 Mitchell Graham.
Replacements: 16 Caleb Mawson, 17 Reuben O’Neill, 18 Jared Proffit, 19 Riki Hoeata, 20 Lachlan Boshier, 21 Kylem O'Donnell, 22 Seta Tamanivalu, 23 Latu Vaeno.

Referee: Mike Fraser