Blue Bulls still unbeaten

Date published: August 29 2015

The Blue Bulls continued their perfect start to the Currie Cup season on Saturday, beating the Griquas 46-32 in Kimberley.

The result is the men from Pretoria's fourth bonus-point win in as many games, but they relinquished top spot in the Currie Cup standings after falling behind the Golden Lions on points difference.

Meanwhile, the Griquas are still winless this season, but claimed their first tournament point of the year  thanks to their bonus for scoring four tries. 

The Bulls, however, were able to score six tries, with wing Jamba Ulengo and centre Dries Swanepoel both touching down twice to add to wing Travis Ismaiel's early five-pointer. Louis Fouché crossed in the dying minutes.

Ulengo was named Man of the Match while prop Dean Greyling and rookie scrum-half Ivan van Zyl also performed well. 

The Griquas made the brighter start, dominating the early exchanges to lead 11-0 at the end of the first quarter thanks to a try from wing Ntabeni Dukisa, who also secured the conversion and two penalties.

The Bulls came charging back, though, scoring four answered tries to wrap up their bonus point before the interval, where they led 31-11.

Although the Griquas started the second half well – scoring a push-over try via hooker AJ Le Roux and another via replacement Carel Greeff – the visitors hit right back as Ulengo bagged his second try while fly-half Tian Schoeman kept the scoreboard ticking over with an excellent display from the kicking tee.

A late consolation try by Griquas full-back Riaan Viljoen was cancelled out by Fouché, who came off the bench to add the icing to the cake with his team's sixth try.

The scorers:

For Griquas:
Tries: Dukisa, Greeff, Roux
Cons: Dukisa, Swart 2
Pen: Dukisa
Yellow card: Lobberts

For Blue Bulls:
Tries: Ismaiel, Ulengo 2, Swanepoel 2, Fouche
Cons: Schoeman 5
Pens: Schoeman 2
Yellow card: Labuschagne

Griquas: 15 Riaan Viljoen, 14 Sandile Ngcobo, 13 Michael Van Der Spuy, 12 Clinton Swart, 11 Ntabeni Dukisa, 10 Francois Brummer, 9 Tian Meyer(c), 8 RJ Liebenberg, 7 Jonathan Adendorf, 6 Johan Wessels, 5 Hugo Kloppers, 4 Jaco Nepgen, 3 Ewald Van Der Westhuizen, 2 AJ Le Roux, 1 Steph Roberts.

Replacements: 16 Martin Bezuidenhout, 17 Luxolo Koza, 18 Hilton Lobberts, 19 Carel Greeff, 20 Rudi Van Rooyen, 21 Jonathan Francke, 22 Ruhan Nel.

Blue Bulls: 15 Warrick Gelant, 14 Travis Ismaiel, 13 Dries Swanepoel, 12 Burger Odendaal, 11 Jamba Ulengo, 10 Tian Schoeman, 9 Ivan van Zyl, 8 Arno Botha, 7 Jannes Kirsten, 6 Lappies Labuschagne (c), 5 Marvin Orie, 4 Jacques du Plessis, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Bandise Maku, 1 Dean Greyling.

Replacements: 16 Corniel Els, 17 Dayan van der Westhuizen, 18 RG Snyman, 19 Nick de Jager, 20 André Warner, 21 Louis Fouché, 22 Dan Kriel.

Venue: Griqua Park, Kimberley

Referee: Marius van der Westhuizen

Assistant referees: Lourens van der Merwe, Jaco Kotze

TMO: JJ Wagner