Blue Bulls extend Pumas misery

Date published: September 10 2016

A dominant display by the Blue Bulls saw them beat a spirited Pumas side 41-14 in their Currie Cup clash in Nelspruit on Saturday night.

The win sees the men from Pretoria move up to second on the Currie Cup standings with 20 points and level with the Sharks, but they have played one game more than Griquas and the Lions below them.

Nevertheless, they will be happy with the bonus-point victory away from home. The Pumas, on the other hand, are still searching for their first win of the competition after another disappointing display.

They offered little on attack and were destroyed at scrum time where the Blue Bulls managed to score a push-over try early in the second half whoch also secured them the bonus point.

Ulrich Beyers opened the scoring for the visitors when he slipped through a few tackles after only seven minutes. The Blue Bulls struggled to convert their dominance into points throughout most of the first 40, while Francois Brummer kept the home side in the game with three penalties to close the gap to 10-9 after 30 minutes.

But two tries in the last five minutes of the first half gave the Blue Bulls a healthy 24-9 lead at the break after Travis Ismaiel ran through unapposed from a ruck before Nic de Jager extended the lead with another five-pointer.

The push-over try all but secured the result for the visitors before Jamba Ulengo scored his first of two tries when he exploited an overlap which started from a line-out in the Pumas half.

The Pumas scored a consolation try with 10 minutes left in the game when Ruwellyn Isbell rounded off a strong run by Renaldo Bothma.

The scorers

For the Pumas
Try: Isbell
Pens: Brummer 3
Yellow card: Van Wyk

For the Blue Bulls
Tries: Beyers, Ismaiel, De Jager, Liebenberg, Ulengo 2
Cons: Schoeman 3, Stander
Pen: Schoeman 

The teams:

Pumas: 15 Devon Williams, 14 Bernado Botha, 13 Hennie Skorbinski, 12 Marlou van Niekerk, 11 JP Lewis, 10 Francois Brummer, 9 Emile Temperman, 8 Renaldo Bothma (c), 7 Lambert Groenewald, 6 Brian Shabangu, 5 Jannie Syander, 4 Wiehan Hay, 3 Marne Coetzee, 2 Frank Herne, 1 De Jay Terblanche
Replacements: 16 Simon Westraadt, 17 Louis Albertse, 18 Stephan Greeff, 19 Carel Greeff, 20 Kevin Luiters, 21 Leighton van Wyk, 22 Ruwellyn Isbell

The Blue Bulls: 15 Ulrich Beyers, 14 Travis Ismaiel, 13 Dries Swanepoel, 12 Burger Odendaal, 11 Jamba Ulengo, 10 Tian Schoeman, 9 Piet van Zyl, 8 Hanro Liebenberg (c), 7 Nic de Jager, 6 Ruan Steenkamp, 5 Marvin Orie, 4 RG Snyman, 3 Jacobie Adriaanse, 2 Bandise Maku, 1 Lizo Gqoboka 
Replacements: 16 Jaco Visagie, 17 Martin Dreyer, 18 Irné Herbst, 19 Roelof Smit, 20 Andre Warner, 21 Joshua Stander, 22 Divan Rossouw

Date: Saturday, September 10
Time: 19:10 local (17:10 GMT)
Venue: Mbombela Stadium, Nelspruit
Referee: Stuart Berry
Assistant Referees: Stephan Geldenhuys, Marnus Meiring
TMO: Willie Vos