Big guns return for Province

Date published: October 16 2014


WP coach Allister Coetzee has made 13 changes to his starting XV for Saturday’s semi-final with the Blue Bulls in Cape Town.

WP coach Allister Coetzee has made 13 changes to his starting XV for Saturday’s semi-final with the Blue Bulls in Cape Town.

Flanker Rynhardt Elstadt and centre Michael van der Spuy are the only survivors from last week’s experimental line-up that took on a full-strength Sharks team at Newlands.

Amongst the players recalled by Coetzee this week are skipper and centre Juan de Jongh (the team’s leading try-scorer this season), vice-captain and tighthead prop Pat Cilliers, the fit-again pairing of full-back Cheslin Kolbe and lock Jean Kleyn and SA Sevens speedster Seabelo Senatla.

Fly-half Demetri Catrakilis will play his 50th match for WP this weekend, with Nic Groom partnering him at halfback.

Scrum-half Louis Schreuder and fly-half Kurt Coleman, both of whom also reached the 50-game mark this season for WP, revert to the bench this week, where they will be joined by Oli Kebble, Brok Harris, Sikhumbuzo Notshe and young gun EW Viljoen.

“We’ve selected the best possible team to represent Western Province in Saturday’s semifinal,” Coetzee told WP’s official website.

“It’s fantastic to welcome back the likes of Kolbe and Kleyn from injury and to have Seabelo back from Sevens duty but, as with last week, I have faith in every player that goes out there to represent DHL WP.

“I had my starting XV pretty much thought out earlier this week, but we had some tough calls to make on the bench.”

One of the “tough calls” made by Coetzee was opting to select two props this week, whilst the Province boss also revealed that centre Jaco Taute was not considered for selection because of his ongoing rib injury.

Western Province: 15 Cheslin Kolbe, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Juan de Jongh (c), 12 Michael van der Spuy, 11 Seabelo Senatla, 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 9 Nic Groom, 8 Nizaam Carr, 7 Michael Rhodes, 6 Rynhardt Elstadt, 5 Manuel Carizza, 4 Jean Kleyn, 3 Pat Cilliers, 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 Alistair Vermaak.
Replacements: 16 Neil Rautenbach, 17 Oli Kebble, 18 Brok Harris, 19 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 20 Louis Schreuder, 21 Kurt Coleman, 22 EW Villjoen.

Date: Saturday, October 18
Kick-off: 17:00 local (16:00 BST 15:00 GMT)
Venue: Newlands Stadium, Cape Town
Referee: Lesego ‘Pro’ Legoete
Assistant referees: Marius Jonker, Linston Manuels
Television match official: Deon van Blommestein