Big guns back for the Force

Date published: April 26 2013

Western Force have recalled Ben McCalman, Salesi Ma'afu and Kyle Godwin for their clash with the Brumbies at Canberra Stadium.

The Force have recalled Kyle Godwin, Salesi Ma'afu and Ben McCalman for their derby fixture with the Brumbies at Canberra Stadium on Saturday.

Ma'afu (knee) and McCalman (head knock) have been named after being sidelined last weekend at the 'Canes through injury, while Godwin returns following a planned rest having started in the Force's opening nine matches of the season.

Ma'afu, who played 52 matches for the Brumbies between 2007 and 2011, will pack down in the Western Australian front-row alongside fellow Wallaby prop Pek Cowan and hooker Heath Tessmann, while McCalman will renew his back-row trinity with Matt Hodgson and Richard Brown.

Godwin will team up in the midfield with former Australian Sevens representative, Junior Rasolea, with the pair having last started alongside each other in the Force's victory over the Crusaders.

The inclusion of centre Winston Stanley is the only change to the Western Force bench. Stanley replaces winger Alfie Mafi, who was not considered for selection following a breach of team standards.

Western Force head coach Michael Foley says his side is excited about the challenge that awaits them on Saturday.

“We're a side that has shown considerable character throughout the season and the last three weeks of preparation have shown the players' desire to keep finding small improvements in the standards they've set themselves,” he said.

“These are important steps in becoming the team we want to become.

“We have great respect for the Brumbies and we recognise the challenge of playing the leading side in the competition.”

Western Force: 15 Jayden Hayward, 14 Patrick Dellit, 13 Junior Rasolea, 12 Kyle Godwin, 11 Ed Stubbs, 10 Sam Norton-Knight, 9 Alby Mathewson, 8 Richard Brown, 7 Matt Hodgson (c), 6 Ben McCalman, 5 Sam Wykes, 4 Toby Lynn, 3 Salesi Ma'afu, 2 Heath Tessmann, 1 Pek Cowan.
Replacements: 16 James Hilterbrand, 17 Kieran Longbottom, 18 Rory Walton, 19 Chris Alcock, 20 Mick Snowden, 21 Sias Ebersohn, 22 Winston Stanley.

Date: Saturday, April 27
Venue: Canberra Stadium
Kick-off: 19:40 (10:40 BST, 09:40 GMT)
Referee: Angus Gardner (Australia)
Assistant referees: Andrew Lees (Australia), Matt O'Brien (Australia)
Television match official: Matt Goddard (Australia)