Beale out, Carraro at 12 for ‘Tahs

Date published: June 25 2015

Waratahs Head Coach Michael Cheika has named his team to face the Highlanders in their Super Rugby semi-final at Allianz Stadium on Saturday.

Matt Carraro has been named to play in the centres after Kurtley Beale failed to complete training on Thursday as he continues to struggle with a quadricep injury.

Carraro's move to midfield sees Rob Horne return to the starting XV on the left wing having recovered from a calf niggle.

Dean Mumm is not eligible to play in the finals series and drops off the replacements bench in favour of Patrick McCutcheon.

Waratahs: 15 Israel Folau, 14 Taqele Naiyaravoro, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Matt Carraro, 11 Rob Horne 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Wycliff Palu, 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Jacques Potgieter, 5 David Dennis (c), 4 Will Skelton, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 Benn Robinson
Replacements (one to be omitted): 16 Tolu Latu, 17 Jeremy Tilse, 18 Paddy Ryan, 19 Mitchell Chapman, 20 Stephen Hoiles, 21 Patrick McCutcheon, 22 Brendan McKibbin, 23 Jono Lance, 24 Peter Betham.

Date: Saturday, June 27
Venue: Allianz Stadium, Sydney
Kick-off: 19:55 local (09:55 GMT, 11:55 SAST, 21:55 NZST)
Referee: Craig Joubert
Assistant referees: Andrew Lees, James Leckie
TMO: George Ayoub