Bath’s power sees off Exeter

Date published: December 27 2014

Anthony Watson’s try wrapped up a clinical bonus-point win for Bath over Exeter at The Rec – 31-14 the final score.

The hosts headed into the game in excellent form, and were looking to build on last week’s win over Gloucester, while the Chiefs were looking to bounce back following last week’s reverse at Sale Sharks.

There was little between the teams for the majority of the game, but Bath were able to find a cutting edge at a pivotal moment in the match to seal the win. Exeter took the lead on 24 minutes, but the try they scored came against the run of play.

Dean Mumm pounced on the loose ball and found Matt Jess, who was able to race away for the game’s opening points. Gareth Steenson added the conversion.

But Bath found a devastating response and they were in front at half-time following tries from Kyle Eastmond and Horacio Agulla.

Good work from Eastmond put Agulla over, and Ford converted to level the scores, and then Eastmond was in support to finish after Chris Cook had made the break.

Ford was again on target with the conversion, but Exeter were level early in the second half when Jack Nowell latched on to Sam Hill’s kick.

Steenson converted, but again Bath roared back. Dave Attwood turned a dominant maul into a try, which Ford converted before adding a penalty to give the hosts a cushion.

Exeter looked for a way back into the contest, but Bath stood firm, before striking a killer blow three minutes from time, when Watson streamed over to secure the bonus point.

The scorers:

For Bath:
Tries: Agulla, Eastmond, Attwood, Watson
Cons: Ford 4
Pen: Ford

For Exeter:
Tries: Jess, Nowell
Cons: Steenson 2
Yellow Card: Lees

Bath: 15 Anthony Watson, 14 Horacio Agulla, 13 Jonathan Joseph, 12 Kyle Eastmond, 11 Matt Banahan, 10 George Ford, 9 Chris Cook, 8 Leroy Houston, 7 Francois Louw, 6 Matt Garvey, 5 Dominic Day, 4 Stuart Hooper (c), 3 Henry Thomas, 2 Rob Webber, 1 Nick Auterac.
Replacements: 16 Ross Batty, 17 Paul James, 18 David Wilson, 19 Dave Attwood, 20 Carl Fearns, 21 Sam Burgess, 22 Micky Young, 23 Ollie Devoto.

Exeter: 15 Phil Dollman, 14 Jack Nowell, 13 Henry Slade, 12 Sam Hill, 11 Matt Jess, 10 Gareth Steenson, 9 Will Chudley, 8 Thomas Waldrom, 7 Don Armand, 6 Dave Ewers, 5 Damian Welch, 4 Dean Mumm (c), 3 Moray Low, 2 Jack Yeandle, 1 Ben Moon.
Replacements: 16 Luke Cowan-Dickie, 17 Carl Rimmer, 18 Tomas Francis, 19 Mitch Lees, 20 Kai Horstmann, 21 Haydn Thomas, 22 Ian Whitten, 23 Fetu’u Vainikolo.

Referee: JP Doyle (87th Premiership game)
Assistant Referees: Paul Burton and Roger Baileff
TMO: Geoff Warren