Bath booted out by Madigan

Date published: January 16 2016

Leinster secured a hard-fought 25-11 win over Bath in the Champions Cup on Saturday, which ended the English side's hopes of qualification.

Leo Cullen handed opportunities to a number of his Leinster squad's younger players, while there was an unchanged side on duty for Bath. 

Ian Madigan, who scored 20 points in the game, gave the hosts an early lead after a break from Ben Te'o had put Bath under pressure. 

Madigan missed the opportunity to double the advantage after Bath were penalised for offside, and that created the platform for George Ford to level things up with a penalty of his own.

But the lead was restored by Madigan shortly after, making no mistake from the left of the posts, and he made it 9-3 just shy of half-time following the sin-binning of Bath's Dominic Day.

There was still time for the visitors to see a try chalked off and for Madigan to add his fourth penalty of the evening to put nine points between the teams.

The prolific Madigan continued to punish Bath's indiscipline, and he made it 15-3 six minutes after the restart.

A tight encounter finally sprung to life just after the hour, when a well-constructed line-out from the visitors opened an opportunity for Leroy Houston to score the game's first try.

The conversion was missed, and shortly after the deficit was stretched once more, as Leinster responded in kind with their own first try of the evening. Sean Cronin was the man to get over the line following a period of pressure and Madigan obliged with the extras to make it 22-8 with time running out.

Rhys Priestland's penalty with 14 minutes remaining narrowed the margin to 11, but the only points in the closing stages came courtesy of a final Madigan three-pointer.

The scorers:

For Leinster:
Try: Cronin
Con: Madigan
Pen: Madigan 6

For Bath:
Try: Houston
Pen: Ford, Priestland

Leinster: 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Isa Nacewa (c), 13 Garry Ringrose, 12 Ben Te'o, 11 Dave Kearney, 10 Ian Madigan, 9 Luke McGrath, 8 Jordi Murphy, 7 Josh van der Flier, 6 Rhys Ruddock, 5 Mike McCarthy, 4 Ross Molony, 3 Tadhg Furlong, 2 James Tracy, 1 Peter Dooley.
Replacements: 16 Sean Cronin, 17 Jack McGrath, 18 Marty Moore, 19 Tom Denton, 20 Sean O'Brien, 21 Eoin Reddan, 22 Johnny Sexton, 23 Noel Reid.

Bath: 15 Anthony Watson, 14 Semesa Rokoduguni, 13 Jonathan Joseph, 12 Kyle Eastmond, 11 Matt Banahan, 10 George Ford, 9 Chris Cook, 8 Leroy Houston, 7 Francois Louw, 6 Matt Garvey, 5 Dominic Day, 4 Stuart Hooper (c), 3 David Wilson, 2 Rob Webber, 1 Max Lahiff.
Replacements: 16 Ross Batty, 17 Nick Auterac, 18 Henry Thomas, 19 Charlie Ewels, 20 David Denton, 21 Jonathan Evans, 22 Rhys Priestland, 23 Tom Homer.

Referee: Pascal Gauzère (France)
Assistant Referees: Maxime Chalon (France), Jean-Luc Rebollal (France)
TMO: Eric Gonthier (France)