Barrett in the dock over red card

Date published: April 7 2017

Hurricanes pivot Beauden Barrett faces a disciplinary hearing after he received a red card in his side’s 38-28 win over the Waratahs in Wellington on Friday.

Barrett received two yellow cards in which he is alleged to have contravened Law 10.4(a) Intentionally offending during the match.

A player who receives two yellow cards in a match is awarded a red card.

The case is to be considered in the first instance by the SANZAAR foul play review committee which will take place on Sunday 9 April, 2017 at 11am(SAST), 7pm(AEST), 9pm(NZST) via video-conference.

All SANZAAR disciplinary matters are in the first instance referred to the foul play review committee to provide the option of expediting the judicial process.

For a matter to be dispensed with at this hearing, the person appearing must plead guilty and accept the penalty offered by the foul play review committee.


COMMENTS