Barnes starts in Waratahs swansong

Date published: July 11 2013

Berrick Barnes will wear the number 12 jersey in his final match for the Waratahs when they take on the Reds on Saturday.

Berrick Barnes will wear the number 12 jersey in his final match for the Waratahs when they take on the Reds on Saturday.

Barnes was unavailable for the 'Tahs last week due to international commitments, but will return to the fray on Saturday. His Wallaby counterparts Adam Ashley-Cooper, Israel Folau and Wycliff Palu are not as lucky, with the trio missing out due to injury.

As a result, Cam Crawford switches from wing to full-back to accommodate the arrival of Tom Kingston out wide. Skipper Dave Dennis once again packs down at number eight, with Jed Holloway coming in on the flank.

A derby match always adds a bit of extra spice to proceedings, and with Reds boss Ewen McKenzie having been just named as the new Wallabies coach, there are both bragging rights and international berths to play for.

“As I was saying to the guys, if we can beat the Reds this week we'll finish with the same number of wins as them. When you take that compared to where we were last season, that's a good improvement,” explained coach Michael Cheika.

“It's a great opportunity for guys to go out and show their colours, especially guys who maybe haven't been in the picture. For the likes of Dave Dennis, Bernard Foley, Rob Horne and even Berrick Barnes who didn't play much, it's a chance to show that they're prepared to put their hands up and do their best for selection,” he added.

The match will be the final one in Waratahs colours for a number of players, with Barnes and Sitaleki Timani heading to Japan and France respectively, Tom Kingston joining the Rebels and Tom Carter and John Ulugia also ending their spells with the Sydney outfit.

Waratahs: 15 Cam Crawford, 14 Tom Kingston, 13 Rob Horne, 12 Berrick Barnes, 11 Peter Betham, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Brendan McKibbin, 8 Dave Dennis (captain), 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Jed Holloway, 5 Kane Douglas, 4 Sitaleki Timani, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 John Ulugia, 1 Benn Robinson.
Replacements: Luke Holmes, Jeremy Tilse, Will Skelton, Pat McCutcheon, Mitchell Chapman, Matt Lucas, Tom Carter, Ben Volavola (one to be omitted).

Date: Saturday, July 13
Kick-off: 19:40
Venue: ANZ Stadium, Sydney
Referee: Steve Walsh (Australia)
Assistant referees: James Leckie (Australia), Ed Martin (Australia)
Television match official: George Ayoub (Australia)