Barbarians name star-studded XV

Date published: November 19 2015

World Cup finalists from New Zealand and Australia join forces in a star-studded Barbarians side against Argentina at Twickenham.

Head coach Michael Cheika, whose Wallabies were beaten 34-17 by the All Blacks three weeks ago, also calls on five South African internationals and Fiji’s Nemani Nadolo in the Killik Cup squad named today.

The starting line-up sees New Zealand’s World Breakthrough Player Nehe Milner-Skudder deployed alongside giant wing Nadolo and Australia’s Tevita Kuridrani, and there is an all South African second row of captain Victor Matfield and Lood de Jager.

Seven more internationals are among the replacements, including Matfield’s longstanding second row partner Bakkies Botha, who makes his final professional appearance at the weekend.

The match against Argentina celebrates the 125th anniversary of the Barbarians club founded by WP Carpmael in 1890 and many of the club’s former greats – including legendary 1973 try scorer Gareth Edwards – will be watching from the Royal Box.

Barbarians: 15 Nehe Milner-Skudder, 14 Waisake Naholo, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Ryan Crotty, 11 Nemani Nadolo, 10 Lima Sopoaga, 9 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 8 Stephen Hoiles, 7 Ardie Savea, 6 Scott Fardy, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Lood de Jager, 3 Charlie Faumuina, 2 Stephen Moore, 1 Thomas du Toit
Replacements from: 16 James Hanson, 17 Jamie Mackintosh, 18 Toby Smith, 19 Bakkies Botha, 20 Jarrad Butler, 21 Cobus Reinach, 22 Pat Lambie, 23 Francois Venter, 24 Joe Tomane

Date: Saturday, November 21
Venue: Twickenham
Kick-off: 15:05 GMT
Referee: JP Doyle (England)
Assistant Referees: Tim Wigglesworth (England), Paul Dix (England)
TMO: David Sainsbury (England)