Away win for Bordeaux-Bègles

Date published: December 11 2016

Bordeaux-Bègles picked up a priceless away victory in the Champions Cup as they saw off Exeter Chiefs 13-7 at Sandy Park on Sunday.

Despite dictating most of the game, Jack Maunder’s first-half try was the only score Exeter could muster as handling errors cost them on several occasions.

The Top 14 side hit back through Baptiste Serin, with a number of penalties boosting their tally in the Devon fog.

Rob Baxter’s men dominated the early exchanges but it took half an hour for them to break the deadlock, when 19-year-old Maunder latched on to Ollie Devoto’s offload to slide over the whitewash.

Gareth Steenson added the conversion, before Serin opened the visitors’ account with a penalty shortly after.

Bordeaux then took the lead 16 minutes in to the second-half, as Marco Tauleigne broke away from the back of a scrum to set up scrum-half Serin under the posts. Serin was forced off after sustaining an injury as he grounded the ball, and so Madigan knocked over the conversion from in front of the target.

Lionel Beauxis extended the French side’s lead from the tee, before James Short looked to have scored with an excellent individual effort on the left wing, only for it to be ruled out by Nigel Owens with the help of the television match official.

Jack Nowell had a final chance to carry over in the corner with a minute left on the clock, but Lachie Turner’s pass was unable find the England international as Exeter were knocked out of the competition after their third straight loss.

The scorers:

For Exeter:
Try: Maunder
Con: Steenson

For Bordeaux-Bègles:
Try: Serin
Con: Madigan
Pens: Serin, Beauxis

Exeter Chiefs: 15 Lachie Turner, 14 Jack Nowell, 13 Ollie Devoto, 12 Henry Slade, 11 James Short, 10 Gareth Steenson (c), 9 Jack Maunder, 8 Dave Dennis, 7 Don Armand, 6 Dave Ewers, 5 Jonny Hill, 4 Geoff Parling, 3 Tomas Francis, 2 Jack Yeandle, 1 Ben Moon
Replacements: 16 Shaun Malton, 17 Carl Rimmer, 18 Greg Holmes, 19 Ollie Atkins, 20 Kai Horstmann, 21 Will Chudley, 22 Sam Hill, 23 Michele Campagnaro

Bordeaux-Bègles: 15 Jean-Marcellin Buttin, 14 Nans Ducuing, 13 Romain Lonca, 12 Julien Rey, 11 Blair Connor, 10 Ian Madigan, 9 Baptiste Serin, 8 Marco Tauleigne, 7 Joe Edwards, 6 Loann Goujon, 5 Berend Botha, 4 Tom Palmer, 3 Marc Clerc, 2 Ole Avei, 1 Steven Kitshoff
Replacements: 16 Clement Maynadier, 17 Sébastien Taofifenua, 18 Jean-Baptiste Poux, 19 Luke Jones, 20 Hugh Chalmers, 21 Yann Lesgourgues, 22 Lionel Beauxis, 23 Josaia Vakacegu

Referee: Nigel Owens (Wales)
Assistant Referees: Gwyn Morris (Wales), Robert Price (Wales)
TMO: Tim Hayes (Wales)