Argentina to warm up against NSW

Date published: July 18 2013

Argentina will prepare for the Rugby Championship with two matches against a strong NSW Barbarians outfit.

Argentina will prepare for the Rugby Championship with two matches against a strong NSW Barbarians outfit.

Waratahs coach Michael Chieka has named a handful of Wallabies in his squad which will turn out against Argentina in Buenos Aires on August 3 and August 9. The touring party is made up of members of the Waratahs squad and invited players from the Sydney Premiership.

Chieka believes that the tour will stand as an opportunity for his players to gain invaluable experience against an international side, and also for the club players to put themselves in the reckoning for one of the five places remaining in the Waratahs' 2014 squad.

“We are playing against the main Pumas squad and this will be their first preparation games leading into The Rugby Championship,” Chieka told the Waratahs official site.

“The majority of the Waratahs players were involved in the Lions match and if we can get two more fixtures against international opposition, they will have played three matches against Test opposition. For the guys who haven't played Test rugby before, the experience of playing international rugby in front of a big crowd, especially away from home, is too good to miss out on.

“For someone like Kerren Straker from Penrith, this is a great opportunity to play for a professional contract and, in an area where we want rugby to grow, it proves to everyone out there that there is an opportunity to go further,” he added.

NSW Barbarians squad:

Waratahs players:

Peter Betham (Sydney University), Berrick Barnes (Sydney University), Mitchell Chapman (Eastern Suburbs), Cam Crawford (Northern Suburbs), Dave Dennis (Sydney University), Bernard Foley (Sydney University), Pat McCutcheon (Sydney University), Rob Horne (Southern Districts), Sekope Kepu (Randwick), Matt Lucas (Manly), Brendan McKibbin (Eastern Suburbs), Drew Mitchell (Randwick), Tatafu Polota Nau (Parramatta), Paddy Ryan (Sydney University), Jeremy Tilse (Sydney University), Sitaleki Timani ( Southern Districts), Jed Holloway (Southern Districts), Luke Holmes (Warringah), Ben Volavola (Southern Districts), Will Skelton (Sydney University), Tala Grey (Eastern Suburbs)*.

Invited Shute Shield club players:

Alofa Alofa (West Harbour), Jack Dempsey (Gordon), Auvasa Falealii (Newcastle Waratahs), Alex Gibbon (Southern Districts), Terrence Hepetema (Randwick), David Horwitz (Randwick), Tolu Latu (Sydney University), David Lolohea (West Harbour), Usaia O'Sullivan (West Harbour), Kerren Straker (Penrith), Sam Talakai (Sydney University), Keliti Vangalo (Eastern Suburbs), Liam Winton (Sydney University).