Argentina switch seven for Tonga

Date published: October 2 2015

Argentina coach Daniel Hourcade has named his team for the Pool C match against Tonga at Leicester City Stadium on Sunday.

Hourcade has made seven changes to the team which beat Georgia 54-9, bringing back Guido Petti, Tomas Lavanini, Pablo Matera and Leonardo Senatore from the team which lost to New Zealand in their opening match.

Jeronimo De la Fuente and Matias Moroni replace Juan Martín Hernández and Marcelo Bosch, who started both of Argentina's previous matches. The two young centres have never started a test together for Argentina.

Tighthead prop Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, who also started Argentina's first two matches, is replaced by Ramiro Herrera.

The front row trio of Marcos Ayerza, Agustín Creevy and Herrera is coach Hourcade's favourite combination as they have started eight of Argentina's matches, the last of which was the 34-9 defeat by Australia in this year's Rugby Championship.

Argentina have lost all eight matches in which that trio has started together in the front row, although all eight were against Australia, New Zealand or South Africa.

On the wing, Juan Imhoff needs one try to break the Argentina RWC record of four which he currently shares with four other players.

Having overtaken his brother Ignacio's number of caps in the last match, Juan Martín Fernández Lobbe now equals Ignacio in terms of RWC matches (13). Mario Ledesma leads that list with 18 RWC matches for the Pumas.

With an average age of 26 years and 236 days, Argentina are fielding their youngest team since their quarter-final defeat by France at RWC 1999 and a team that is around a year per man younger than the one which played against Georgia.

Argentina: 15 Joaquin Tuculet, 14 Santiago Cordero, 13 Matias Moroni, 12 Jeronimo De La Fuente, 11 Juan Imhoff, 10 Nicolas Sánchez, 9 Martín Landajo, 8 Leonardo Senatore, 7 Juan Martín Fernández Lobbe, 6 Pablo Matera, 5 Tomás Lavanini, 4 Guido Petti, 3 Ramiro Herrera, 2 Agustín Creevy (c), 1 Marcos Ayerza
Replacements: 16 Julian Montoya, 17 Lucas Noguera, 18 Juan Pablo Orlandi, 19 Matias Alemanno, 20 Juan Manuel Leguizamón, 21 Tomas Cubelli, 22 Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias, 23 Horacio Agulla

Date: Sunday, October 4
Venue: Leicester City Stadium
Kick-off: 14:30 local (13:30 GMT)
Referee: Jaco Peyper (South Africa)
Assistant Referees: Glen Jackson (New Zealand), Mike Fraser (New Zealand)
TMO: Ben Skeen (New Zealand)