Anglo-Welsh Cup wrap: Maximum for Saracens

Date published: January 27 2017

Three games took place in the Anglo-Welsh Cup on Friday, with Saracens and Sale winning while Bath and Gloucester drew.

Scarlets 17-32 Saracens

Saracens moved to the summit of Pool 1 of the Anglo-Welsh Cup after they beat the Scarlets with a try bonus-point at Parc y Scarlets.

Saracens cantered to an 18-0 lead by the turnaround as tries from centre Nick Tompkins and full-back Matt Gallagher set them on their way. Fly-half Max Malins chipped in with a conversion and two penalties to leave the Welsh region with a mountain to climb in the second-half.

Jack Maynard got the recovery going on 42 minutes with a penalty and when Morgan Allen crossed for a converted try, suddenly it was 10-18.

Saracens steadied the ship just after the hour mark as wing Mike Ellery collected his own chip ahead to go over. Tom Whiteley made it 25-10.

But the Scarlets were not done and when replacement Billy McBryde converted his own try on 67 minutes, it was game on in Llanelli, 25-17.

Saracens though showed their class and rounded off an impressive win by sealing the bonus-point through Whiteley as they added the gloss.

The scorers:

For Scarlets:
Tries: Allen, McBryde
Cons: Maynard, McBryde
Pen: Maynard

For Saracens:
Tries: Tompkins, Gallagher, Ellery, Whiteley
Cons: Malins, Whiteley 2
Pens: Malins 2

Scarlets: 15 Dion Jones, 14 Tom Williams, 13 Steff Hughes, 12 Gareth Owen, 11 Corey Baldwin, 10 Jack Maynard, 9 Declan Smith, 8 Morgan Allen, 7 Josh Macleod, 6 Jack Condy, 5 Rynier Bernardo, 4 Josh Helps, 3 Nicky Thomas, 2 Emyr Phillips (c), 1 Dylan Evans
Replacements: 16 Torin Myhill, 17 Gethin Robinson, 18 Peter Edwards, 19 Phil Day, 20 Tom Phillips, 21 Connor Lloyd, 22 Billy McBryde, 23 Richard Smith

Saracens: 15 Matt Gallagher, 14 Mike Ellery, 13 Tim Streather (c), 12 Nick Tompkins, 11 Rotimi Segun, 10 Max Malins, 9 Henry Taylor, 8 Samu Vunisa, 7 Will Fraser, 6 Joel Conlon, 5 Mark Flanagan, 4 Nick Isiekwe, 3 Petrus Du Plessis, 2 Scott Spurling, 1 Titi Lamositele
Replacements: 16 Jared Saunders, 17 Jack Culverhouse, 18 Billy Walker, 19 Kyle Baillie, 20 Ben Earl, 21 Neil De Kock, 22 Tom Whiteley, 23 Dominic Morris

Referee: Jack Makepeace (England)
Assistant Referees: Adam Jones, Justin Williams 

Bath 17-17 Gloucester

Bath and local rivals Gloucester played out an entertaining draw at the Recreation Ground that does little for either side's pool hopes.

In a low-scoring opening period, just a try from hooker Darren Dawidiuk, converted by James Hook, was put on the board by the Cherry and Whites. In reply though, Bath could only muster three points from Rhys Priestland, which meant it was 7-3 at the break to the visitors.

Fly-half Priestland was on-target again seven minutes into the second-half to cut the gap to one point but Hook would respond soon after.

At 10-6 up the Cherry and Whites knew the next score would be crucial, but it was to be Bath and Priestland that got it and the one after that, with the fly-half slotting two further penalties that nudged his side 12-10 ahead. With 20 minutes to play the game was still anyone's.

It looked like Bath would be the team to grab the points when Aled Brew crossed the line for an unconverted try to make it 17-10, but Ben Vellacott hit back for Gloucester on 78 minutes, with Hook sending over the extras that levelled the match as the points were shared.

The scorers:

For Bath:
Try: Brew
Pens: Priestland 4

For Gloucester:
Tries: Dawidiuk, Vellacott
Cons: Hook 2
Pen: Hook

Bath: 15 Harry Davies, 14 Jeff Williams, 13 Jack Wilson, 12 Ben Tapuai, 11 Aled Brew, 10 Rhys Priestland, 9 Chris Cook, 8 Paul Grant, 7 Guy Mercer (c), 6 David Sisi, 5 Tom Ellis, 4 Levi Douglas, 3 Shaun Knight, 2 Jack Walker, 1 Beno Obano
Replacements: 16 Michael van Vuuren, 17 Darryl Marfo, 18 Max Lahiff, 19 Elliott Stooke, 20 Josh Bayliss, 21 Will Homer, 22 Adam Hastings, 23 Max Clark

Gloucester: 15 Tom Marshall, 14 David Halaifonua, 13 Henry Trinder, 12 Andy Symons, 11 Henry Purdy, 10 James Hook, 9 Callum Braley (c), 8 Freddie Clarke, 7 Dan Thomas, 6 Sione Kalamafoni, 5 Joe Latta, 4 Joe Batley, 3 Paul Doran-Jones, 2 Darren Dawidiuk, 1 Yann Thomas
Replacements: 16 Motu Matu'u, 17 Cameron Orr, 18 Salesi Ma'afu, 19 Tom Denton, 20 Will Safe, 21 Ben Vellacott, 22 Lloyd Evans, 23 Mat Protheroe

Referee: Andrew P Jackson (England)
Assistant Referees: Phil Watters (England), Clare Daniels (England)
TMO: Graham Hughes (England)

Sale Sharks 41-3 Cardiff Blues

Sale jumped to the top of Pool 2 as they eased past a second-string Cardiff Blues side with a seven-try success at the AJ Bell Stadium.

Denny Solomona got them going with a try on nine minutes before Jonathan Mills doubled the lead, as AJ MacGinty converted both scores.

Laurence Pearce went over three minutes before the break for Sale and with Jarrod Evans' penalty for the Blues it was 19-3 at half-time.

Sale were rampant and claiming a maximum haul was never in doubt, especially when number eight Pearce got his brace on 49 minutes.

Hooker Neil Briggs made it 29-3 six minutes later and try number six arrived soon after as replacement James Flynn went over for 34-3.

And there was still time for one further score for the Sharks and it came via a penalty try to put the seal on a comprehensive triumph.

The scorers:

For Sale:
Tries: Solomona, Mills, Pearce 2, Briggs, Flynn, Penalty Try
Cons: MacGinty 2, McGuigan

For Cardiff Blues:
Pen: Evans

Sale Sharks: 15 Mike Haley, 14 Denny Solomona, 13 Johnny Leota, 12 Sam Tuitupou, 11 Byron McGuigan, 10 AJ MacGinty, 9 Mike Phillips, 8 Laurence Pearce, 7 David Seymour (c), 6 Tom Curry, 5 Jonathan Mills, 4 Bryn Evans, 3 Halani Aulika, 2 Neil Briggs, 1 Ross Harrison
Replacements: 16 Cameron Neild, 17 James Flynn, 18 Kieran Longbottom, 19 George Nott, 20 Ben Curry, 21 James Mitchell, 22 Sam James, 23 Mark Jennings

Cardiff Blues: 15 Aled Summerhill, 14 Teri Gee, 13 Cory Allen, 12 Garyn Smith, 11 Harri Millard, 10 Jarrod Evans, 9 Pele Cowley, 8 Cam Dolan (c), 7 Morgan Sienawski, 6 James Sheekey, 5 Seb Davies, 4 Ben Edwards, 3 Kieron Assiratti, 2 Ethan Lewis, 1 Corey Domachowski
Replacements: 16 Liam Belcher, 17 Marc Thomas, 18 Ben Leung, 19 Callum Bradbury, 20 Aled Ward, 21 Dane Blacker, 22 Ben Jones, 23 Cameron Lewis

Referee: Craig Evans 
Assistant Referees: Nigel Yates (England), Chris Sharp (England)