Anglo-Welsh Cup Final Preview: Exeter v Leicester

Date published: March 17 2017

Ricky Pellow has told his Exeter Chiefs side to go and “finish the job” as they prepare to face rivals Leicester at the Twickenham Stoop on Sunday.

Team news for the Chiefs ahead of kick-off sees them make a few tweaks to their winning formula from that which saw off Harlequins.

In the front row, international props Moray Low and Greg Holmes both come into the starting line-up, while behind Dave Ewers – who made a huge impact off the bench last time out – gets the nod over Tom Johnson in the back row.

In the back division, Jack Maunder returns at scrum-half in place of Stuart Townsend, while Max Bodilly’s switch from wing to centre means there is also a starting spot for recently-crowned Premiership Player of the Month, James Short, on the wing.

Meanwhile, Mike Williams and Peter Betham return to the Leicester Tigers starting line-up.

England squad member Williams joins Harry Thacker and Lachlan McCaffrey in the Tigers back row in the only change among the forwards from the team that started the semi-final win at Saracens last weekend.

Betham replaces JP Pietersen on the wing in the only other change to the starting team.

There are changes among the replacements, which include club captain Tom Youngs and lock Dom Barrow alongside fly-half Owen Williams.

Matt Smith is in line to make a 200th first-team appearance for the club if he is called from the bench.

Assistant coach Geordan Murphy has led the Tigers team during the competition and said: "We've been consistent in our selection through the tournament. We've talked about looking for good performances and we've had some really good performances from young players to get us into this situation.

"The players have taken their chances when they have come along, they've been really committed and that's what you want.”

The teams:

Exeter Chiefs: 15 Lachie Turner, 14 Matt Jess, 13 Max Bodilly, 12 Sam Hill, 11 James Short, 10 Joe Simmonds, 9 Jack Maunder, 8 Sam Simmonds, 7 Julian Salvi (c), 6 Dave Ewers, 5 Damian Welch, 4 Ollie Atkins, 3 Greg Holmes, 2 Shaun Malton, 1 Moray Low
Replacements: 16 Elvis Taione, 17 Billy Keast, 18 Jack Owlett, 19 Sam Skinner, 20 Tom Johnson, 21 Haydn Thomas, 22 Will Hooley, 23 Tom Hendrickson

Leicester Tigers: 15 George Worth, 14 Peter Betham, 13 Mathew Tait (c), 12 Jack Roberts, 11 Tom Brady, 10 Freddie Burns, 9 Jono Kitto, 8 Lachlan McCaffrey, 7 Harry Thacker, 6 Mike Williams, 5 Graham Kitchener, 4 Harry Wells, 3 Fraser Balmain, 2 George McGuigan, 1 Ellis Genge
Replacements: 16 Tom Youngs, 17 Michele Rizzo, 18 Greg Bateman, 19 Dom Barrow, 20 Luke Hamilton, 21 Ben White, 22 Owen Williams, 23 Matt Smith

Date: Sunday, March 19
Venue: The Stoop, Twickenham
Kick-off: 15:00 GMT
Referee: Tom Foley (England)
Assistant Referees: Ross Campbell (England), Roy Maybank (England)
TMO: David Sainsbury (England)