Anae sees red in Glasgow win

Date published: October 31 2014


Treviso replacement Albert Anae was sent off as Peter Horne’s boot guided Glasgow to a 17-9 win over the visitors to Scotstoun on Friday.

Treviso replacement Albert Anae was sent off as Peter Horne’s boot guided Glasgow to a 17-9 win over the visitors to Scotstoun on Friday.

Glasgow headed into the game having recorded an impressive victory away at Montpellier, while Treviso were looking to put the brakes on a terrible run of form.

But the Italians acquitted themselves well against much stronger opposition, and were in the contest right until the final whistle. And an even opening quarter suggested that the hosts would not have everything their own way, as Treviso held firm in defence and asked their own questions in attack.

But the deadline was eventually broken after 20 minutes, when Nikola Matawalu was on the end of a flowing move through the hands to touch down out wide.

Horne was wide with the conversion but he added a penalty shortly after to make it 8-0. Jayden Hayward responded in kind to cut the deficit to five and the two teams exchanged penalties just before half-time to make it 11-6 at the break.

There was an equally tight opening to the second half as the hosts struggled to shake off their opponents. And Treviso moved to within two points with a penalty on 55 minutes to turn up the heat on Glasgow.

But Horne struck two penalties in the closing minutes as the home side consolidated their advantage.

Treviso’s Anae was sent off for the visitors in the final 20 minutes for an off-the-ball incident, but the Italians emerged from the contest with plenty of pride in tact.

The scorers:

For Glasgow:
Try: Matawalu
Pens: Horne 4

For Treviso:
Pens: Hayward 3
Yellow Card: Campagnaro
Red Card: Anae

Glasgow: 15 Peter Murchie, 14 Lee Jones, 13 Richie Vernon, 12 James Downey, 11 DTH van der Merwe, 10 Peter Horne, 9 Niko Matawalu, 8 Ryan Wilson, 7 Chris Fusaro, 6 Josh Strauss (capt), 5 Leone Nakarawa, 4 Tom Ryder, 3 Rossouw de Klerk, 2 Pat MacArthur, 1 Ryan Grant.
Replacements: 16 Dougie Hall, 17 Alex Allan, 18 Zander Fagerson, 19 James Eddie, 20 Will Bordill, 21 Murray McConnell, 22 Connor Braid, 23 Rory Hughes.

Treviso: 15 Jayden Hayward, 14 Simone Ragusi, 13 Michele Campagnaro, 12 Enrico Bacchin, 11 Ludovico Nitoglia, 10 Sam Christie, 9 Alberto Lucchese, 8 Francesco Minto, 7 Alessandro Zanni (capt), 6 Simone Favaro, 5 Corniel Van Zyl, 4 Tomas Vallejos, 3 Salesi Manu, 2 Davide Giazzon, 1 Matteo Zanusso.
Replacements: 16 Amar Kudin, 17 Albert Anae, 18 Rupert Harden, 19 Mat Luamanu, 20 Marco Lazzaroni, 21 Marco Barbini, 22 Luca Morisi, 23 James Ambrosini.

Referee: Ian Davies
Assistant Referees: Neil Paterson, Lloyd Linton