All Blacks change 11 for Ireland

Date published: November 17 2016

All Blacks head coach Steve Hansen has made 11 changes to his starting XV for Saturday’s clash with Ireland in Dublin.

In the forwards, the starting front row – from the first Test against Ireland in Chicago – of props Joe Moody and Owen Franks and hooker Dane Coles has been retained.

The second row has been bolstered by the return of senior locks Brodie Retallick and Samuel Whitelock. Meanwhile in the loose forwards, captain Kieran Read returns at number eight, while last week’s captain, Sam Cane, is alongside him in the number seven jersey for his 40th Test.

Regular blindside flanker Jerome Kaino has been ruled out with a mild calf strain, so Liam Squire will make his third Test start in his eighth Test, in the number six jersey.

In the backs, scrum-half Aaron Smith and fly-half Beauden Barrett will start their eighth Test of 2016 as the starting inside pairing, while in midfield Anton Lienert-Brown and Malakai Fekitoa will play together in their second consecutive Test.

In the back three, Ben Smith is at full-back and Israel Dagg on the right wing in what will be the 60th Test for both, with Julian Savea in his regular left wing jersey.

The replacements bench is hooker Codie Taylor and props Wyatt Crockett and Charlie Faumuina, lock Scott Barrett in his third test of the Tour, loose forward Ardie Savea, scrum-half TJ Perenara, fly-half Aaron Cruden and outside back Waisake Naholo.

New Zealand: 15 Ben Smith, 14 Israel Dagg, 13 Malakai Fekitoa, 12 Anton Lienert-Brown, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Kieran Read (c), 7 Sam Cane, 6 Liam Squire, 5 Samuel Whitelock, 4 Brodie Retallick, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Dane Coles, 1 Joe Moody
Replacements: 16 Codie Taylor, 17 Wyatt Crockett, 18 Charlie Faumuina, 19 Scott Barrett, 20 Ardie Savea, 21 TJ Perenara, 22 Aaron Cruden, 23 Waisake Naholo

Date: Saturday, November 19
Venue: Aviva Stadium, Dublin
Kick-off: 17:30 GMT
Referee: Jaco Peyper (South Africa)
Assistant Referees: Mathieu Raynal (France), Ian Davies (Wales)
TMO: Jon Mason (Wales)