Alexander set to replace Hoskins

Date published: September 27 2016

Mark Alexander will be named as the new president of the South African Rugby Union after no one else was nominated for the role.

The vice-presidency will be contested between Thelo Wakefield and Francois Davids. Wakefield is currently the president of the Western Province Rugby Union (WPRU) while Davids serves on SARU's executive committee. He was previously president of the Boland Rugby Union.

Wakefield has also been nominated for a place on the executive committee should he lose the vice-presidency race, reports Netwerk24.

SARU confirmed the election will be held on October 27 but the venue has not yet been revealed.