ACC preview: Thursday

Date published: December 15 2011

Wasps will be looking to reverse last week's Amlin Challenge Cup loss in Bayonne when the French arrive at Adams Park on Thursday.

Wasps will be looking to reverse last week's Amlin Challenge Cup defeat in Bayonne when the French side arrive at Adams Park on Thursday.

The game is critical if the High Wycombe based outfit are to progress, and Dai Young has made four changes to his line-up from the 19-11 loss.

Richard Birkett and Rob Webber have recovered from minor injuries to come back into the team while Elliot Daly and Richard Haughton come in to the start in the backs. Dom Waldouck shifts to the bench while Tom Varndell takes a break for this game having picked up a slight knock last week.

There is one positional shift to the side with Sam Jones moving across the back-row to openside.

“This is a must-win game if we want to try and win our group,” Young told the Wasps website.

“Bayonne are a very dangerous team with some superb individual players but we performed well last weekend and we can take a lot of positives from the chances we created. However, we won't get a second chance tomorrow night – if we get a sniff of a score we must take it and it's something we've been hammering home this week.”

The teams:

Wasps: 15 Hugo Southwell, 14 Richard Haughton, 13 Elliot Daly, 12 Riki Flutey, 11 Christian Wade, 10 Nick Robinson, 9 Joe Simpson, 8 John Hart (c), 7 Sam Jones, 6 Richard Birkett, 5 Marco Wentzel, 4 Ed O'Donoghue, 3 Ben Broster, 2 Rob Webber, 1 Tim Payne.
Replacements: 16 Tom Lindsay, 17 Zac Taulafo, 18 Jeremy Castex, 19 Joe Burton, 20 James Harris, 21 Charlie Davies, 22 Ryan Davis, 23 Dom Waldouck .

Bayonne: 15 Cedric Heymans, 14 Marvin O'Connor, 13 Thibault Lacroix, 12 Lionel Mazars, 11 Joe Rokocoko, 10 Benjamin Boyet, 9 Cedric Garcia, 8 Sione Lauaki, 7 Julien Puricelli, 6 Jean-Jo Marmouyet, 5 Abdellatif Boutaty, 4 Robin Linde, 3 Nemiah Tialata, 2 David Roumieu, 1 Aretz Iguiniz.
Replacements: 16 Francois Da Ros, 17 Vitolio Manukula, 18 Denis Avril, 19 Troy Flavell, 20 Marc Baget, 21 Mike Phillips, 22 Sam Gerber, 23 Clement Otazo.

Kick-off: 19:45
Venue: Adams Park
Referee: Neil Paterson (Scotland)
Assistant referees: David Changleng (Scotland), Andy Ireland (Scotland)
Television match official: Jim Yuille (Scotland)

Brive v Rugby Club La Vila

In the other games taking place on Thursday, Brive play host to La Vila, who they beat 47-18 last week. Hat-trick hero in that game, Jacque Boussuge, will not feature in the matchday 22 this time around as Brive rotate in what should be an easy five-pointer for the Top 14 side.

Brive are currently top of Pool 5 with Sale Sharks breathing down their neck after picking up a victory in Agen last week. They host the same French outfit at Edgeley Park on Sunday.

The teams:

Brive: 15 Julien Caminati, 14 Clement Marienval, 13 Sevania Galala, 12 Guillaume Namy, 11 Mathias Atayi, 10 Benjamin Caminati, 9 Augustin Figuerola, 8 Simon Azoulai, 7 Alexandre Bias, 6 Vincent Forgues, 5 Olivier Caisso, 4 Julien Le Devedec, 3 Pablo Cardinali, 2 Louis Acosta, 1 Pablo Henn.
Replacements: 16 Jefferson Poirot, 17 Pat Barnard, 18 Alexandre Barozzi, 19 Arnaud Mela, 20 Poutasi Luafutu, 21 Mathieu Belie, 22 Riaan Swanepoel, 23 Scott Spedding.

Rugby Club La Vila: 15 Edu Sorribes Ramirez, 14 Juanma Quirante Carmona, 13 Marcos Poggi, 12 Nathan Reid, 11 Javi Carrion Llorens, 10 Nick McCashin, 9 Alexis Hebrard, 8 Matthew Cook, 7 Fredi Gonzales, 6 Jarrid Els, 5 Mike Walker-Fitton, 4 Thom Cleary, 3 Joe Hutchinson, 2 Jon Phipps, 1 Rodrigo Martinez Sánchez.
Replacements: 16 Enrique Fuster, 17 Juan Pablo Vasquez Rodriguez, 18 Diego Vazquez Orrego, 19 Kevin Hansen Ruiz, 20 Fernando Lopez Sanchez, 21 Hernan Quirelli, 22 Tim Evans, 23 Bambi Coronel Densy.

Kick-off: 20:00 (21:00 GMT)
Venue: Stade Amédée Domenech
Referee: Marius Mitrea (Italy)
Assistant referees: Stefano Marrama (Italy), Claudio Blessano (Italy)

Stade Francais v Crociati

Pool 1 pace-setters Stade Francais won 57-0 against Crociati in Parma last weekend, with Alexander Rokobaro starring with a hat-trick. But there is no spot for him this time around as the 15 jersey is to be worn by Hugo Bonneval, alongside Paul Sackey and Djibril Camara.

The improving Paris outfit will be looking to boost their points-scoring tally, which would subsequently make life difficult for second-placed Worcester Warriors to top the Pool.

The teams:

Stade Francais: 15 Hugo Bonneval, 14 Paul Sackey, 13 Morgan Turinui, 12 Quentin Valancon, 11 Djibril Camara, 10 Jules Plisson, 9 Jerome Fillol, 8 David Lyons, 7 Pierre Rabadan, 6 Lei Tomiki, 5 Pascal Pape, 4 Alexandre Flanquart, 3 Stan Wright, 2 Laurent Sempere, 1 Olivier Milloud.
Replacements: 16 Aled De Malmanche , 17 David Attoub, 18 Rabah Slimani, 19 Tom Palmer, 20 Antoine Burban, 21 Byron Kelleher, 22 Jonathan Danty, 23 Alex Rokokaro.

Crociati: 15 Federico Magri, 14 Luca Carritiello, 13 Hamid En Naour, 12 Giovanni Alberghini, 11 Filippo Casalini, 10 Francesco Ruffolo, 9 Jacopo Zucconi, 8 Emiliano Caffini, 7 Giuseppe Sciacca, 6 Edoardo Ruffolo, 5 Douglas Fletcher, 4 Mike Van Vuren, 3 Marco Coletti, 2 Andrea Manici, 1 Pardeep Singh.
Replacements: 16 Carlo Festuccia, 17 Flavio Tripodi, 18 Luigi Milani, 19 Roberto Mandelli, 20 Diego Delnevo, 21 James Ireland, 22 Davide Farolini, 23 Timi Enodeh.

Kick-off: 20:30 (21:30 GMT)
Venue: Stade Charlety
Referee: Andrew Macpherson (Scotland)
Assistant referees: Rob Dickson (Scotland)), Adrian Graves (Scotland)
Television match official: Iain Heard (Scotland)

Bordeaux-Begles v Rugby Rovigo

Bordeaux will be looking to back up last weekend's bonus-point victory over the Italian side with something similar when the two sides meet at Stade Chaban-Delmas on Thursday.

They currently sit third in Pool 3, five points behind Wasps and traliing pace-setters Bayonne by eight while Rovigo do not have a point to their name thus far in Challenge Cup 2011/12.

The teams:

Bordeaux-Begles: 15 Camille Lopez, 14 Thierry Brana, 13 Julien Rey, 12 Michel Denetre, 11 Laurent Ferreres (capt), 10 Nicolas Sanchez, 9 Manu Saubusse, 8 Leroy Houston, 7 Louis Madaule, 6 Hugh Chalmers, 5 François Tisseau, 4 Andrew Chauveau, 3 Patrick Toetu, 2 Boris Bethery, 1 Franck Labbe.
Replacements: 16 Fabien Rofes, 17 Julien Turini, 18 Anael Neveu, 19 Adam Jaulhac, 20 Matthew Clarkin, 21 Heini Adams, 22 Andrew Mailei, 23 Charles Brousse.

Rovigo: 15 Mickey Wilson, 14 Riccardo Pavan, 13 Samuele Pace, 12 German Bustos, 11 Roberto Pedrazzi, 10 Davide Duca, 9 Michele Zanirato, 8 Hendro Scholtz, 7 Filippo Cristiano, 6 Edoardo Lubian, 5 Tomasso Reato (capt), 4 Daniele Tumiati, 3 Giovanni Boccalon, 2 Davide Giazzon, 1 Nicola Quaglio.
Replacements: 16 Luke Mahoney, 17 Giuseppe