15 nominees for European Player of the Year award

Date published: March 21 2017

EPCR in conjunction with one of its Official Partners, Turkish Airlines, has named the contenders for the European Player of the Year award.

This season’s winner will follow in the footsteps of world-class talents such as Sean O’Brien, Jonny Wilkinson and Maro Itoje, and will also receive one million air miles courtesy of Turkish Airlines.

Selected by a distinguished panel of rugby experts, the list for one of the most prized individual accolades in the world game includes 15 players who have performed outstandingly during the 2016/17 season to date.

Itoje, who won last year’s award following a series of magnificent displays as Saracens stormed to a first Champions Cup title, is nominated again along with team-mate Owen Farrell while Wasps’ Elliot Daly is also included for a second season in a row.

There are first-time nominations for the Munster trio of Tyler Bleyendaal, Conor Murray and CJ Stander, while Leinster have matched that number with Tadhg Furlong, Isa Nacewa and Garry Ringrose making the list.

Wasps also have three players as Joe Launchbury and Thomas Young join Daly, and there are nominations for the Clermont duo, Camille Lopez and Noa Nakaitaci, as well as Jonny Gray and Stuart Hogg of Glasgow.

Once again, fans of European club rugby will be able to have a major say in the outcome in tandem with the judging panel, and from Monday, 3 April online voting for the award winner will open on epcrugby.com.

The initial voting phase will conclude following the semi-final matches when the list of players will be reduced to five on Monday, 24 April. The EPCR European Player of the Year 2017 will be announced during the EPCR finals weekend in Edinburgh in May.

EPCR European Player of the Year 2017 list presented by Turkish Airlines:

Tyler Bleyendaal (Munster), Elliot Daly (Wasps), Owen Farrell (Saracens), Tadhg Furlong (Leinster), Jonny Gray (Glasgow), Stuart Hogg (Glasgow), Maro Itoje (Saracens), Joe Launchbury (Wasps), Camille Lopez (Clermont), Conor Murray (Munster), Isa Nacewa (Leinster), Noa Nakaitaci (Clermont), Garry Ringrose (Leinster), CJ Stander (Munster), Thomas Young (Wasps)