Planet Rugby

The British & Irish Lions


Lions tour 1966

1966 - British Lions tourist David Watkins

British Lions tourist David Watkins

20th April 2013 15:14


1966 - British Lions captain Mike Campbell-Lamerton during the first Test match against Australia in Sydney

British Lions captain Mike Campbell-Lamerton during the first Test match against Australia in Sydney

The Lions, captained by Mike Campbell-Lamerton, played 35 matches in the tour including two in Canada and eight in Australia.

The tourists began by playing two Tests against Australia, which they won 11-8 and a convincing 31-0.

Confidence was high and there was talk in the media of this Lions squad being the best of all time.

But they then lost three of the nine warm-up matches arranged before facing the All Blacks in the first Test where they lost once again. A poor performance resulted in Stewart Wilson scoring the only points from a penalty.

Three All Black tries, one conversion, one penalty and one drop goal condemned the Lions to an opening 20-3 loss.

The Lions rallied back in the second Test and led 9-8 at half-time before one stray pass at the death ended any hope of turning their 16-12 deficit into a narrow win.

Three Stewart Wilson penalties and a Dai Watkins drop-goal gave the Lions hope but the Kiwis scored three tries, converted two and scored a penalty to win.

A second half collapse saw the third Test also end in defeat after the Lions held their hosts 6-6 at half-time. Watkins and Ronnie Lamont scored tries in the first half but Waka Nathan (2), and Spooky Smith scored tries and Mick Williment scored two conversions and two penalties to seal a predictable series win as the All Blacks won the match 19-6.

The All Black pack prevailed once again in the final Test and New Zealand completed the 4-0 whitewash with a 24-11 victory.

The Lions then crashed to a shock defeat to British Columbia, before they finished the tour with a 19-8 victory against CanadaLions 1966

May 7 v Western Australia W 60-3
May 11 v South Australia W 38-11
May 14 v Victoria W 24-14
May 18 v NSW Counties W 6-3
May 21 v New South Wales D 6-6
May 28 v Australia W 11-8
May 31 v Queensland W 26-3
June 4 v Australia W 31-0
June 11 v Southland L 8-14
June 15 v South Canterbury, North Otago & Mid Canterbury W 20-12
June 18 v Otago L 9-17
June 22 v New Zealand Universities W 24-11
June 25 v Wellington L 6-20
June 29 v Marlborough, Nelson, Golden Bay & Motueka W 22-14
July 2 v Taranaki W 12-9
July 6 v Bay of Plenty D 6-6
July 9 v North Auckland W 6-3
July 16 v New Zealand L 3-20
July 20 v West Coast-Buller W 25-6
July 23 v Canterbury W 8-6
July 27 v Manawatu-Horowhenua W 17-8
July 30 v Auckland W 12-6
August 2 v Wairarapa-Bush W 9-6
August 6 v New Zealand L 12-16
August 10 v Wanganui-King Country L 6-12
August 13 v Maoris W 16-14
August 17 v East Coast-Poverty Bay W 9-6
August 20 v Hawke's Bay D 11-11
August 27 v New Zealand L 6-19
August 31 v New Zealand Juniors W 9-3
September 3 v Waikato W 20-9
September 6 v Thames Valley-Counties W 13-9
September 10 v New Zealand L 11-24
September 14 v British Columbia L 3-8
October 17 v Canada W 19-8